Interview with Allyson Latta

Wednesday, June 2, 2010


17 FINALISTS FOR TRILLIUM BOOK AWARD: "TORONTO – Seven English books and five French have been short-listed for the 23rd Annual Trillium Book Award, the Ontario government’s prestigious award for literature. This year, three titles are also short-listed for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English language and two titles in French language."

On June 23, 2010 the public are invited to join in the celebration of the finalists with authors’ readings followed by a reception. The event will be held in the Bram & Bluma Appel Salon, Toronto Reference Library, 2nd Floor, 789 Yonge Street, Toronto. On June 24, 2010, the Honourable Michael Chan, Ontario Minister of Tourism and Culture, will announce the winners in Toronto at a luncheon.
English Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium are:

Margaret Atwood, The Year of the Flood (McClelland & Stewart)
Ian Brown, The Boy in the Moon (Random House Canada)
Alexandra Leggat, Animal (Anvil Press)
Anne Michaels, The Winter Vault (McClelland & Stewart)
Alice Munro, Too Much Happiness (McClelland & Stewart)
Emily Schultz, Heaven is Small (House of Anansi Press)
Cordelia Strube, Lemon (Coach House Books)
French Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium are:

Ryad Assani-Razaki, Deux cercles (VLB éditeur)
Nicole Champeau, Pointe Maligne. L’infiniment oubliée (Les Éditions du Vermillon)
Jean Mohsen Fahmy, Frères ennemis (VLB éditeur)
Daniel Poliquin, René Lévesque (Les Éditions du Boréal)
Daniel Soha, La Maison : une parabole (Éditions du GREF)
English Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry are:

Susan Holbrook, Joy is so Exhausting (Coach House Books)
Karen Solie, Pigeon (House of Anansi Press)
Matthew Tierney, The Hayflick Limit (Coach House Books)
French Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry are:

Jacqueline Borowick, Le chant du coucou (Inanna Publications & Education Inc.)
Michèle Matteau, Passerelles (Les Éditions L’Interligne)

•The Trillium Book Award encourages excellence in literature through its significant investment in Ontario-based writers. Award recipients for both English and French works receive $20,000. Their respective publishers also receive $2,500 to promote the winning titles. All finalists receive a $500 honorarium.
•The Trillium Book Award for Poetry was introduced during the 16th Trillium year to recognize new emerging poets in English and French language (poets’ first, second and third published works only are eligible for consideration for this prize). The winner for each of these awards receives $10,000 and their publisher $2,000 for promotion of the titles. Finalists for these awards also receive a $500 honorarium.
•Internationally-acclaimed authors who have received the Trillium Award include Alistair MacLeod, Margaret Atwood, Michael Ondaatje, Austin Clark and Alice Munro.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...